I first played games with the original NES, my first game being the combo pack of the original Super Mario Bros. and Duck Hunt. After the first level of Mario and the first shot of the Zapper, I was in love with gaming. It was fun and engrossing to be able to make actions happen on the screen, something I'd never imagine. It has molded me into a type of person that enjoys interactive experiences and not only static ones.

Now, I play quite a variety of games from awesome mobile games like Game Dev Story and Super Hexagon to console/handheld titles such as LittleBigPlanet 2 to Assassin's Creed 2 along with Portal 2 and Super Mario 3D Land. Just as well, I love indie titles as well such as Dust, Super Meat Boy and Bastion being my three favorites that I've played so far this year.

Some of my other favorites include team games like Team Fortress 2 and Starcraft 2 to more single-player, insular experiences like Professor Layton and the Mysterious Village to Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney. I love playing a variety of games on many different consoles. My main criteria is that the game must be interesting and on some level, fun. I've become very open-minded to the types of games I've played from fighting games like Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 to FPSes like Counter-Strike. I'm playing games now mostly on my repaired xbox 360.

It just matters that the game has created a unique and intriguing experience that I couldn't find before. That means that a game like Heavy Rain which is very scripted and insular is still enjoyable to me because of the interesting story and interaction compared to something without any story but with terrific gameplay like Super Mario Galaxy. The game must simply prove itself to be that kind of interesting experience that is unlike any other.

credit: Thanks to Johnny Lee for sharing his story with all of us.



Leave a Reply.